Walk by faith

Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see.
Hebrews 11:1 (NLT)

 

Then He touched their eyes and said, “Because of your faith, it will happen.”
Matthew 9:29 (NLT)

 

For we walk by faith, not by sight.
2 Corinthians 5:7 (NKJV)

The other day my husband called me with news of his impending lay-off from the job that he’s been at since August of last year.  He’s in construction.  It happens.  Projects start, and then they wind down, and people get laid off.  It’s just how things are.  While his supervisor had been planning to keep him and several others well into April, it was passed down the chain that he didn’t have the final say and to lay him and a few others off.

So about ten minutes after he breaks the news to me that today, Thursday, is to be his final day, I find myself saying something that was unexpected and to me, seemed uncharacteristic.

“So what are you going to do ______ you’re dispatched next week since the trailer is in the shop?”

I have the blank there because, as I thought about the words that had come out of my mouth later that night, I honestly didn’t know whether I had said “if” or “when.”  Any that are women reading this, (and maybe some husbands/boyfriends,) know that we always know what we’ve said, word for word, and can recount it at a moment’s notice verbatim in case of any future disagreement.  Right?

But I truly didn’t know and that bothered me.  No matter how many times I replayed the audio tape in my head, I couldn’t be sure of what that one syllable was.  So I made a mental note to ask my husband.

He sat on the couch clearly replaying his own mental audio tape after I asked him, “What did you hear me say?”  After a moment, the response came that he heard “When, but not the part about ‘next week.'”

And here the end to the head scratching I had been hoping to find, eluded me yet again.

knew I had said “next week,” and that part I didn’t doubt.  At this point, I have resorted to blaming it on potential cell interference or road noise.  Pretty probable excuse as to why he could have missed two words in the middle of a sentience, right?

So what?  People get laid off every day.  This matters why?

Like I said, this seemed uncharacteristic of me, even as the words were coming out of my mouth.  I have been through these lay offs with him before so it’s not new ground.  Generally though, about the first half hour to hour is spent talking about the immediate.  Is there enough money in the account for a while?  Any idea about the delay before unemployment payments?  What are the job prospects in the area?  Is traveling on or off the table?  Any major payments on the horizon that could be a problem?  You know, the typical, boring, ‘running a household’ stuff.

But there was none of that this time.

Just what are you going to do to get by when you’re sent out next week since the trailer you had been planning to take with you to the next job is still in the shop?

He and two others that are getting their final checks today are heading to the hall tomorrow to get back on the out of work list so that they can be dispatched to another job.  He doesn’t seem optimistic that it will be a  super quick turn around because he states that only a small number of people are being dispatched per day, (this morning was a single person being called out by name).

But I hold a different opinion.

I will not be surprised if he’s sent out next week.  Quite the opposite.  I will be surprised if he is not.

Sure, you cay say that I am being foolhardy, overly optimistic, or just setting myself up to be let down.  I could say I am trusting that God is at work and He’s got this.

Guess only time will tell which it is.

 

CPB

 

Leave a Reply

