A lesson in faith- look to your cat

Over the past few weeks I have marveled at how often my cats have seemed to show me what true faith is.  In a way, they’re helping to guide me into becoming a better follower of Jesus.

But cats don’t even come when you call them.

Not sure where that comes from, but I know that unless my cats are asleep, they generally come right over when they’re called; tail straight up, looking expectantly, happy to be singled out for whatever I have for them.

Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace in our time of need.
Hebrews 4:16 (NKJV)

Sure, there are times when all I get are ears turned in my direction, but can we say that we always jump when God calls us to do something?  Or do we sit where we are and see if maybe He will change His mind and ask something else instead?

He went a little father and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.”
Matthew 26:39 (NKJV)

Jesus uses both the lilies of the valley and the birds as an example of faith, and I feel it can be said that cats exemplify this as well.

Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on.  Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?
Matthew 6:25 (NKJV)

They have no thumbs with which to open their own cans of food, nor to pour out more crunchies.  They cannot turn on the faucet to get more water for themselves if their bowl is empty.  They trust that you will ensure they have everything they need.  They own nothing themselves, but they don’t worry about where they will sleep or what they will eat.  They know it will be provided for them.  Why?  Because you love them.

Then what happens when we bring out a can of food or begin to fill a bowl with more crunchies?  We’re generally greeted by at least one voice and a raised tail.

…singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord, giving thanks always for all things to God the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ,
Ephesians 5:19-20 (NKJV)

There have been some studies and articles that assert that the primary reason cats meow is to communicate with their humans, not each other.  We all know that tone that we hear in their voices anywhere from half an hour to a full hour (or more) before their designated feeding time asserting that they are clearly starving and need to be fed “right meow!”

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.
Matthew 7:7 (NKJV)

I suppose it’s possible that I have an oddball group of felines, but it doesn’t take more than me telling them that “It’s not time.  Wait a little longer,” and then walking out of the kitchen to quiet them.  It’s not the answer they want, clearly, but they accept “Wait” as my answer.  How many times have we prayed for something we desperately want only to fight the answer received from God of, “Wait,” in our own lives?  Whether we begin to beg and plead with God for what we feel we need right then and there, or if we go out and try to make it happen on our own, we are, at that point, like the cat trying to open their own can of cat food.  We lack the ability.  And if you replace the can with a bag of crunchies, sure, the cat can get into it, but they sure seem to make a mess of things.

Matthew 7:7 speaks of perpetual action.  Keep asking, keep seeking, and keep knocking.  That, most certainly, is what my cats do when it comes to food.  While they accept the “Wait” for a while, they will come back a while later and ask again.  But if it still is not time, they accept “Wait.”

How many times have you seen you cat in the middle of something, whether playing with their favorite toy, or bathing for a nap, only to leap up and follow you into another room?

Then He said to them, “Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.”  They immediately left their nets and followed Him.
Matthew 4:19-20 (NKJV)

Not ‘thought about it a while and debated’ before following.  Immediately.  Just like your cat.  No second thoughts.  My human is going there, so I am going to go there as well.

And no, I haven’t even touched on the love they give…

But both my coffee cup, and the pot are empty.  So I will likely continue on this another day.

 

CPB

P.S. I think I must add here, that I am by no means asserting that we are mini gods that deserve worship from our pets.  Quite the contrary, actually.  I am asserting that by being part of a category that is certainly among the least, (a mere domestic house pet,) they are, in fact, helping lead by example.

“Whoever therefore breaks one of the least of these commandments, and teaches men so, shall be called least in the kingdom of heaven; but whoever does and teaches them, he shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.
Matthew 5:19 (NKJV)

 

Leave a Reply

