Ouch

My son, do not despise the chastening of the Lord,
Nor detest His correction;
For whom the Lord loves He corrects,
Just as a father the son in whom he delights.
Proverbs 3:11-12

So during my daily devotional this morning, (been working my way through a Biblical Counseling Foundation course,) I was the recipient of a not so subtle smack upside the head.

See, the more you spend time in the Bible and draw near to God, the harder it becomes to write much of anything off as coincidence.  Instead, everything seems to become clear and you are able to discern more of the why behind just about the smallest occurrence in your life.

This morning’s reading was all about whom to speak to and when to speak, (how to speak is tomorrow.)  I lost count of the number of verses I read today that basically got me to sink down in my chair, hang my head, and think, “guess I really screwed up, huh?”

Do not speak in the hearing of a fool,
For he will despise the wisdom in your words.
Proverbs 23:9

“He who corrects a scoffer gets shame for himself,
And he who rebukes a wicked man only harms himself.
Do not correct a scoffer, lest he hate you;
Rebuke a wise man, and he will love you.
Proverbs 9:7-8

It is honorable for a man to stop striving,
Since any fool can start a quarrel.
Proverbs 20:3

I could post more, but I think that gets the point across fairly well.

I failed.

I sinned.

Despite my attempts to seek out the best verse with which to make my point, (the one time I did respond by verse to an antagonizing post,) I should not have done so and should have walked away.

Rather than allowing him to feed off of my posts and thereby justify to himself posting more lies on his page, I should have stopped it long ago.  Justifying my continuing to post by the fact that mine were public and his were not was wrong.

While attempting to show him what a true believer thinks and does, I may have done nothing more than give him reason to harden his heart even more, driving him further from the Lord instead of bringing him closer.

With today’s post, I remedied that.  I once again altered my posting methods.  No longer will he see any verses that I post as they are now set to be blocked to him.  I will not be dissuaded from posting verses that speak to me, but I will no longer feed into his justification for spreading lies which could place stumbling blocks in the path of others.

And a servant of the Lord must not quarrel but be gentle to all, able to teach, patient, in humility correcting those who are in opposition, if God perhaps will grant them repentance, so that they may know the truth, and that they may come to their senses and escape the snare of the devil, having been taken captive by him to do his will.
2 Timothy 2:24-26

One time in the Bible that “if” nearly leapt off the page at me.

So yes, while I am quite aware of the fact that I can be rather dense at times, (not something I am proud of when it comes to hearing the Lord,) I got today’s message loud and clear.  Yes, every verse here, save for the very top one, was in my reading today.  Hard not to miss the correction taking place there.

Another day studying His word, another day growing.  Even when it stings, I am thankful for it.

 

CPB

 

Leave a Reply

